Taking a Break (but not breaking up!)

Well hello there! Remember me?

Don’t worry – it’s okay if you don’t! After all, my last post was June 17 (46 days ago!!!!). Actually that’s is exactly what I am hear to talk about today.

Sometimes, for whatever reason, we are unable or unwilling to continue doing something we love. It doesn’t make sense, but I think we all know the feeling of realizing that we haven’t done something for quite a while, even though it makes us very happy. Sadly, blogging is not the only thing that I havfoen’t been doing regularly, even though it makes me very happy.

It is with great regret that I admit that until quite recently, I had been neglecting my yoga practice. I kept thinking about how badly I wanted to hit my mat and how much I loved yoga and yet I just wasn’t doing it!

I think sometimes we all (especially the perfectionists among us) hold off on doing things because we are afraid we won’t be able to do them properly. When I thought about how long it had been since I last attended a yoga class, I forgot about how good it would feel to get back in my panic over how much progress I would have lost and how hard it might be. In other words, I didn’t even try because I was afraid I’d set the bar too high already. Here is another prime example of a lesson from yoga that can be applied to our “real lives”. On the mat, at school, wherever we find ourselves, we just have to let go of our egos! If we opt out we will always be just as bad as we expect ourselves to be, but in putting ourselves out there we might be surprised by how good we are!

Okay, that’s probably quite enough cheesy peptalking for the day. Stay tuned for an update on my first class back after two weeks off!

One response to “Taking a Break (but not breaking up!)

  1. Pingback: Back at it! | poseitout·

Leave a Reply

