So basically…

Image

Every now and then I go on a total “basics” kick and just want to buy articles of clothing in their purest, simplest form. Sounds boring and easy, right? Well, believe it or not designers sometimes like to actually have fun and veer from the most uncomplicated version of a piece. Recently I am coming off of one such kick.

For the last two days I have been on an adventure. The mission was as follows: A pair of medium wash skinny jeans with NO whiskering, fading, rips… you get the picture. Okay, so I’m not Indiana Jones. Still, this was a much more difficult task to accomplish than I’d initially anticipated.

After I exhausted the stores around Queen and Spadina, I decided to refocus. A recent newcomer to Toronto, I had yet to make the trip to Yorkville and thought this might be the perfect excuse, so that’s exactly what I did. I made my way to Over the Rainbow, a store I’d heard about in my past life as a Burlingtonian, but never visited.

When I walked in I was greeted by a wall of denim and an extremely helpful sales girl. It wasn’t easy, but we did it! I walked away with a new pair of 29″ Citizens of Humanity skinnys with only minimal detailing. Yay!

Image

As with any basic, these jeans are incredibly versatile. Of course that means that my mind was instantly overloaded with potential outfits. I can’t wait to wear them all!

Image

Top: Banana Republic, Scarf: Birthday Gift (no tag!)

Image

Top: Free People, Necklace: H&M

ImageImage

Kimono: Aritzia, Bracelet: Pearl Market in Beijing

The only problem is which outfit should I wear today!?

Leave a Reply

